Telephone

The Old Mill, Contemporary Extension linking a Group of Listed Buildings, Milford on Sea

Share to social media

Project Description

A modern intervention linking and restoring a group of listed, ruined buildings in the New Forest, Hampshire to bring them back into use as a family home.

This unique site within the heart of Milford on Sea is currently very neglected and overgrown. The site was bought in 2016 and the designs to restore and renovate the group of ruined listed buildings began. 

Due to the site being in a conservation area, in a flood zone and also including three grade II listed buildings, this project went through extensive Pre Applications with the planning authority to enable the best possible outcome for both the site and the buildings. 

The three buildings on site include the Old Mill of Milford which is a very important historical building of the town. Due to the site importance, the majority of Milford on Sea residents back this project which helped in the success and approval of the designs at planning committee in 2018. 

The approved design is a mostly glazed extension linking all three buildings together to form one dwelling. The new extension was designed to contrast in materials to the existing buildings whilst being subservient in height and transparency allowing the significance and importance of the listed buildings to remain prominent.

The current group of three buildings was once a group of five in the 1890's. This original grouping is reflected within the design of the new extension through two slightly raised roof elements which signify the exact same location and size of the historic buildings. 

To allow as much transparency as possible within the new extension the more private rooms such as the bedrooms are housed within the walls of the existing buildings. This leaves the new element as mostly open plan living space with panoramic views into the garden and mill stream.